top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnastasia

[These five vrttis are] right knowledge, error, imagination, sleep, and memory

Pramana-viparyaya-vikalpa-nidra-smrtayah (in Sanskrit)

The Yoga Sutras - Chapter 1, Sutra #6

Patanjali enumerates five types of “vrttis” or changing states of mind here in Sutra #6. What happens is these five changing states bind our pure consciousness to the world of “samsara” (the cycle of birth and death). Our mind always finds itself in the right knowledge, error, imagination, sleep, or memory - the charging states of the mind that are either detrimental or nondetrimental to the practice of yoga. The Yoga tradition states that all possible mental states that we can experience in our lives, are manifestations of these five types of “vrttis”. Each of them is described in detail in the following Yoga Sutras.

Check out previous and future posts about the Yoga Sutras following the hashtag #yoga_sutras_by_anastasia.


6 views0 comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page