top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnastasia

What is yoga? Part 3: Eight limbs of yoga

Today, there are many different forms of yoga practice and techniques available to still thoughts and integrate consciousness. Many of them are rooted in the philosophy of the Yoga Sutras, which were written in the 2nd century BC. The Yoga Sutras is a short work of only 195 aphorisms, or sutras, which together give us a clear and holistic idea of how to use yoga techniques to achieve the union between the body and the mind, to achieve self-realization.

The Yoga Sutras indicate a clear path towards this goal, consisting of eight limbs which are Yama (attitudes toward our environment), Niyama (attitudes toward ourselves), Asana (physical postures), Pranayama (restraint or expansion of the breath), Pratyahara (withdrawal of the senses), Dharana (concentration), Dhyana (meditation) and Samadhi (complete integration). I will be covering all of them in the upcoming posts.

5 views0 comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page