top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnastasia

What is yoga? Part 9: Dharana, Dhyana, and Samadhi: Integration of Consciousness

The last three limbs of yoga are dharana (concentration of the mind), dhyana (meditation), and samadhi (union). Patanjali constructs his text in such a way that their relationship is obvious. The ability to keep the posture still and keep the mind focused on one object is dharana, or concentration. When concentration becomes continuous and consistent, it is called dhyana or meditation. Thus, meditation is not a "journey" of the mind, but its stay in the present moment, here and now. Only in a state of absolute "presence" we can experience samadhi: the final stage of the yoga practice, at which union with the divine is reached.

8 views0 comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page